• Brussels, the capital of Belgium
  • Brussels and the European Union
  • Economy
  • Transport
  • Living in Brussels
  • (Intro)

    In Belgium the three major European cultures come together i.e. the Latin, German and Anglo-Saxon culture. Belgium is divided in three regions; Flanders, Wallonia and Brussels and has three official languages; French, Dutch and German, hence most Belgians are multilingual. Moreover 75% of the GNP comes from foreign trade, which means that the Belgian culture and economy are very open.

    Brussels is the capital of the kingdom of Belgium and is know as the capital of Europe. The NATO-headquarters are based in Brussels King Albert II - [copyright sofam - bon sofam °580]and there are also representative offices of the United Nations. Brussels is home to a large and diverse population with a different ethnic and geographical background. There is a large community of expatriates in Brussels; their number is estimated at over 50,000 people. Brussels is also the second most important location for large-scale business events in the world

    1. Brussels, the capital of Belgium

    In 1830 Belgium became independent. It is a constitutional monarchy, with King Philip as Head of state and Charles Michel, the Prime Minister, as head of the Federal Government.

    The Belgian state on a national level is lead by the federal government. On a regional level there are the governments of Flanders, Wallonia and Brussels, responsible for economic development, infrastructure and the environment. Furthermore there are three communities, the French, Dutch and German community, which are responsible for culture, education and health care.

    [next page] — [print] — [top]

    CHINA EURO SERVICE LTD - 48 av. Huart Hamoir - B 1030 Brussels - Belgium
    Tél. : +32 2 788 21 03 - Fax. : +32 2 242 66 04

    Réalisé avec le soutien de Brussels-Export