• 布鲁塞尔——比利时的首都
  • 布鲁塞尔和欧洲联盟
  • 经济
  • 运输
  • 生活在布鲁塞尔
  • 2 布鲁塞尔和欧洲联盟

    1) 欧洲联盟简介

    欧洲联盟(EU)是欧洲单一民族国家之间超越国家的政府间的联盟。它始于1992年,拥有6个成员国,现在拥有27个成员国,它们是:奥地利、比利时、保加利亚、塞浦路斯、捷克共和国、丹麦、爱沙尼亚、芬兰、法国、德国、希腊、匈牙利、爱尔兰共和国、意大利、拉脱维亚、立陶宛、卢森堡公国、马耳他、荷兰、波兰、葡萄牙、罗马尼亚、斯洛伐克、斯洛文尼亚、西班牙、瑞典和(大不列颠)联合王国。

    2) 欧洲联盟的历史

    第二次世界大战结束后,几个西方欧洲国家觉得需要一个欧洲保护组织,有必要重建欧洲,避免第三次世界大战,因此,西欧自发地组织了欧洲联盟,而东欧则在苏联的影响范围之内。

    1950年5月9日,法国外长罗伯特·舒曼开始了组建联盟的第一步。他递交了一个提议,即众所周知的“舒曼宣言”,呼吁联合管理法国和西德的煤炭和钢铁工业。这促成了1951年巴黎条约的签署,并建立了欧洲煤钢共同体。条约由西德、法国、意大利和比利时、荷兰、卢森堡三国经济联盟共同签订。1992年签署了有关欧洲联盟的条约(马斯特里希特条约),建立了我们今天所知的欧洲联盟。

    3) 布鲁塞尔的EU机构

    重要的EU机构和团体包括欧洲委员会、欧洲联盟理事会、欧洲理事会、欧洲中央银行、欧洲法庭和欧洲议会。
    现今,欧洲委员会、欧洲联盟理事会和欧洲议会位于布鲁塞尔。这些机构日益掌控着主要的经济和政治决议,因此也掌控着27个国家超过4﹒5亿人民的日常生活。

    4) EU经济

    现在EU是欧洲大陆最大的政治和经济实体,官方GDP为10.5万亿欧元。EU经济年均增长约2%。由于新成员国低于EU平均水平,2007年增长率期望有所增加,并且有能力增长到较高的比率。2006年在欧洲地区创造了三百五十万个就业机会。
    EU的货币欧元已被13个国家采用,分别是:奥地利、比利时、芬兰、法国、德国、希腊、爱尔兰、意大利、卢森堡公国、荷兰、葡萄牙、斯洛文尼亚和西班牙。

    申根协议废除了大多数内部边境护照的检验和海关的检查,因此,EU成员国的公民可在其它成员国内自由旅行,也可在其它成员国内居住、工作和投资。

    [next page] — [print] — [top]

    CHINA EURO SERVICE LTD - 48 av. Huart Hamoir - B 1030 Brussels - Belgium
    Tl. : +32 2 788 21 03 - Fax. : +32 2 242 66 04

    Ralis avec le soutien de Brussels-Export

• Brussels, the capital of Belgium
  • Brussels and the European Union
  • Economy
  • Transport
  • Living in Brussels
  • 2. Brussels and the European Union

    a. The European Union: an introduction

    The European Union (EU) is a supranational and intergovernmental union of nation-states in Europe. It started in 1992 with six members and now has 27 member states, i.e. Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Republic of Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom

    b. History of the European Union

    After the Second World War several Western European countries felt the need of a European umbrella organization, necessary to rebuild Europe and to avoid a Third World War. Hence, the initiative to start a European Union came from Western Europe, while Eastern Europe was under a Soviet influence sphere.
    The first step towards a union was taken on May 9 1950 by French foreign minister Robert Schuman. He presented a proposal, known as the "Schuman Declaration”, for the joint management of France's and West Germany's coal and steel industries. This led to the Treaty of Paris in 1951 that founded the European Coal and Steel Community. The treaty was signed by West-Germany, France, Italy and the Benelux countries. In 1992 the Treaty on European Union (The Maastricht Treaty) was signed, which founded the European Union as we know it today.

    c. EU Institutions in Brussels

    Important EU institutions and bodies include the European Commission, the Council of the European Union, the European Council, the European Central Bank, the European Court of Justice, and the European Parliament.
    Today the European Commission, the Council of the European Union and the European Parliament are located in Brussels. These institutions increasingly control major economical and political decisions, hence the daily life of over 450 million people in 27 countries.

    d. EU Economy

    The EU is now the largest political and economic entity on the European continent, with an official GDP of €10.5 trillion. The average annual growth of the EU economy is around 2%. The growth rate is expected to increase in 2007 due to the new member states that are poorer than the EU average and have the capacity to grow at a higher rate. In 2006 an estimated 3.5 million jobs were created in the Eurozone.
    The euro, the currency of the EU, is adopted in 13 countries already, i.e. Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia and Spain.
    The Schengen Agreement abolished most internal border passport control and customs checks. Hence, citizens of EU member states can travel freely in other member states and also live, work and invest in another member state.

    [next page] — [print] — [top]

    CHINA EURO SERVICE LTD - 48 av. Huart Hamoir - B 1030 Brussels - Belgium
    Tél. : +32 2 788 21 03 - Fax. : +32 2 242 66 04

    Réalisé avec le soutien de Brussels-Export